The 2020 Maggie Marcopul Award Recipient

Katie Gassner
Tobacco Control Prevention Specialist
Mercer County Behavioral Health Commission, Inc. 

At the CPA  Conference, Katie was recognized as the 2020 Maggie Marcopul Award Winner!  Katie continues to make significant contributions to the field of prevention through service, leadership, advocacy, and education.

Tracy Auell, Mercer County Prevention Department Supervisor and nominator says, "Katie exhibits the highest level of professionalism and innovation in her day to day service. Katie had the personal drive to seek out additional professional credentials and is a Nationally Certified Tobacco Treatment Specialist. She is committed to offering cutting edge prevention strategies across two counties (Mercer & Lawrence). Katie is a true collaborator, partner, innovator, educator and leader in the prevention field. "

Service & Leadership

"Katie was recognized at the state level for the creation of the QUIT AND GET FIT in-person cessation program which was added to PA Best Practices website."


"Katie’s advocacy efforts are a fabulous testament to how effective advocacy strategies promote ongoing support of tobacco cessation and prevention programs."


"During one academic year, Katie presented to 505 teachers regarding current tobacco trends. In the same year, Katie assisted 27 stakeholders with creating, revising and/or strengthening tobacco policies."